North Dakota County and City Listed Noxious Weeds

Revised November 2023

The 13 state noxious weeds are enforced by all cities and counties in North Dakota.

Counties and cities do have the option to add additional weeds onto a list for enforcement only in their jurisdiction. The following are the weeds which have been added to individual county and city noxious weed lists.

Billings - black henbane, common burdock, hoary cress, common mullein Bowman - baby's breath, black henbane, Scotch thistle Burke - common tansy, common burdock Cass - spotted hemlock Cavalier - common tansy, false chamomile Dickey - downy brome Dunn - black henbane Golden Valley - common burdock, common mullein, black henbane, hoary cress Grand Forks - kochia Grant - baby's breath, black henbane, hoary cress, waterhemp Griggs - common mullein Logan - black henbane McKenzie - baby's breath, black henbane, common burdock, halogeton Mountrail - common tansy Nelson - perennial sowthistle Pembina - common tansy, kochia Ramsey - annual sowthistle, false chamomile, waterhemp Renville - common milkweed Rolette - common tansy, orange hawkweed Sargent - bull thistle Sheridan - bull thistle, common milkweed Slope - black henbane Stark - black henbane, hoary cress Steele - kochia Traill - kochia Walsh - false chamomile Ward - false chamomile Wells - common milkweed, perennial sowthistle Williams - hoary cress