<< All News Tuesday, July 5, 2022

BISMARCK – Field days have been finalized at multiple North Dakota sites to collect and redistribute flea beetles that eat leafy spurge.

Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring said persons interested in acquiring the flea beetles to release on their own property can collect them from established populations at the field day sites.

“Leafy spurge continues to be one of North Dakota’s most difficult-to-control noxious weeds,” Goehring said. “Using the flea beetles for biological control, as part of an integrated pest management plan, has proven to be an effective tool in combatting leafy spurge infestations.”

Remaining field days are as follows:

  • Benson County – 11 a.m. – 4 p.m. CDT, Thursday, July 7 (alternate date Friday, July 8 in case of inclement weather) – one-half mile east of Pleasant Lake rest area, on the south side of Highway 2. Nets and refreshments provided.
  • Grant County – 10 a.m. MDT, Thursday, July 7 at Lake Tschida Boy Scout Camp.
  • Stark County – 10 a.m. MDT, Monday, July 11 approximately five miles south of Gladstone on the Enchanted Highway.
  • Morton County – 10 a.m. CDT, Tuesday, July 12 at the wildlife management area south of Mandan. Turn off Main St. onto Highway 6 and go about 10 miles south, following the signs.

All attendees are asked to help collect and all beetles collected are distributed evenly. Attendees should bring a cooler with ice packs to transport the flea beetles and are asked to bring sweep nets if they have them. Stark County requirements include bringing the legal land description of the area where the bugs will be placed.

More information and specific directions to field day sites are available by contacting the applicable local weed control officer:

  • For Benson County, contact Tim Finley at (701) 798-2776.
  • For Grant County, contact Merlin Leithold at 701-527-6544.
  • For Stark County, contact Travis Jepson at 701-456-7665.
  • For Morton County, contact Cody Schnabel at 701-391-8006.

The field days are co-hosted by the North Dakota Department of Agriculture and the weed boards of the respective counties.

<< All News