Monday, February 24, 2020

BISMARCK – Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring has announced North Dakota Agricultural Products Utilization Commission (APUC) awards for seven projects. The requests totaling $273,000 were approved at the APUC quarterly meeting Feb. 19-20 in Bismarck.

APUC is a program of the North Dakota Department of Agriculture that administers grant programs for research and development of new and expanded uses for North Dakota agricultural products. The grants can be used for basic and applied research, marketing and utilization, farm diversification, nature-based agritourism, prototype and technology and technical assistance.

The following requests received approval:

Cows and Co. Creamery was awarded $148,000 to develop an on-farm creamery/dairy. Contact Wilhelmina van Bedaf at 701-650-0153.

Tim Moch was awarded $30,000 to conduct a feasibility study for a new meat plant in Edgeley. Contact Tim Moch at 701-709-0220.

Shepherd Industries was awarded $10,000 for marketing assistance for the fiber products produced in conjunction with the Nome Schoolhouse and combined fiber mill and felting companies. Contact Chris Armbrust at 701-238-4002.

In the Potter’s Hand Inc. was awarded $35,000 for website design and a marketing campaign with redesign of manufacturing. Contact Amy Shaw at 701-539-2256.

Two Track Malting, LLC was awarded $41,000 to work with a marketing agency to promote a new line of brewski malt products. Contact Jared Stober at 701-595-3388.

Gideons Brewing Company was awarded $4,000 to develop a marketing campaign to increase sales volume and amount of North Dakota malt they purchase. Contact David Duma at 701-751-1044.

Prairie Products, LLC was awarded $5,000 to make finishing touches on and implement a marketing plan developed for them. Contact Veronica Michael at 701-261-1587.

APUC will hold its next grant application hearing on May 20-21, 2020, in Grafton. Applications for the May meeting must be received by Apr. 1, 2020. Prototype and technical assistance applications must be received by June 1 for the July 21-22, 2020, meeting.